216 Aspen Ave SE
PO Box 160
Menahga MN 56464
District Office/HS: 218-564-5401
MS/ES: 218-564-4502
Sports and Events Calendar
 News Article
School Board Recognition Week 
The Menahga Public Schools - District 821 will join school districts throughout the state to salute their local education leaders
during Minnesota’s annual School Board Recognition Week February 17-21.

The commemorative week is designed to recognize the contributions made by Minnesota’s school board
members, including the Menahga School Board, who are charged with governing public education under
state law.

Minnesota school board members are chosen by their communities through election or appointment to manage
local schools. They oversee multimillion dollar budgets which fund education programs for more than 825,000
students in approximately 2,000 schools. Their personnel decisions affect more than 52,000 teachers and
thousands of administrators and support workers.

These volunteer leaders also are responsible for formulating school district policy, approving curricula,
maintaining school facilities, and adhering to state and federal education law. Legal concerns and the
complexities of school finance, including budgeting and taxation, require them to spend many hours in board
training programs and personal study to enhance their understanding of these issues.

Our deepest appreciation is extended to the dedicated men and women who make it possible for local citizens
to participate in education in our community. We salute the public servants of the (district name) School Board
whose commitment and civic responsibility make local control of public schools in our community possible:

Andrea Haverinen , Board Chair
Julia Kicker, Vice Chair
Katie Howard, Clerk
Cherie Peterson, Treasurer
Tim Hendrickson, Board Member
Helen Lehto, Board Member

Please join us by saying thanks to our school board members during Minnesota’s School Board Recognition